Sometimes I find myself looking to the the things of this world to fill me up…

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. Fear the Lord, you His saints, for those who fear Him lack nothing. The lions may grow weak and hungry, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.” Psalm 34:8-10
Sometimes I find myself looking to the the things of this world to fill me up. And then, I quickly realize that nothing really does it for me…nothing this world has to offer will ever satisfy me. Sure, things might be fun or enjoyable…maybe even somewhat fufilling, maybe…but there’s still emptiness…there’s still a hunger and a thirst for something more. …Something more than getting the best and latest gadgets, more than having a collection of stuff to take up space, more than making money or getting a paycheck, more than boyfriends or girlfriends, more than fitting in more than day in and day out routine,…the list can go on and on…but all of these things have something in common…they are temporary.
 These things aren’t neccesarily bad…don’t get me wrong, technology is cool and fun, maybe even helpful…and it’s nice to have some luxuries and nice stuff…and money can be a blessing; I mean we sort of need it…and having boyfriends and girlfriends are nice and great things can come from them (but that in itself can be a whole different discussion)…having friends, sure that’s great…and routine is a pretty good thing, I suppose to an extent…but if we look to all of these things to fill us up and satisfy us, we are going to end up feeling empty, frustrated, and unfufilled. …It happens to all of us everyday…We walk away and we aren’t satisfied. …And that’s because you and I were made for more…for a greater purpose! This world isn’t supposed to satisfy us, because we weren’t made for worldy things and for wordly purposes! Everything in this world will fade away…you can’t depend on money or stuff…it can all be taken from you and destroyed in a second…and if you put your hope in other people, no matter what their intentions are, they are not perfect and they will fail to fill you up, and you will be dissapointed.
You guys, put your hope in something that will last…something that will satisfy you…something that will never fail……we exhuast ourselves looking for things to fill us up…and we miss what has been there tugging at our hearts all along…Jesus.
Nothing outside of CHRIST will ever bring you true satisfaction and fullness of joy and life…NOTHING. And I am figuring this out more and more…Only in the Lord, will we truly find purpose and satisfaction. Seek Him with your whole heart, and He will introduce you to more than you could ever imagine…a whole new purpose, a whole new outlook…no longer about ourselves, but about His greater purpose! The world is full of empty promises, but the Lord will never fail to keep all of the promises He has made. You can go to Him, over and over and He will renew your strength and give you a joy and a hope and a peace like you’ve never had before! …Those who see the Lord lack no good thing…
Lord, give me a hunger and thirst for you and for your word. Let the things of this world be completely unatractive to me…fill me with yourself and work in me, doing whatever you have to in order to make me a better servant for you. Lord, my fear is that I would become content with everyday things and routine…I don’t want to go through the motions or live everyday half-heartedly…fuel a fire in my heart to live for you and seek you everyday. Fill me with yourself and use me for your glory! Make MUCH of yourself and LESS of me. And satisy me with yourself, Lord. Amen.
“My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with my lips my mouth will praise you.” Psalm 63:5

 Sincerely, Sarah 🙂

 
Leave a Reply

